13 Jun, 2007, Ugha wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I've been running my own mud for around nine years now, during those nine years I was the exclusive coder.

It's ROM based, so of course I was coding in C. I felt no need during this time to learn C++.

Now I've found myself forced to learn C++ due to the lack of information/libraries/code examples out there in
normal C. I hate this.

Of course, this casts C++ in a negative light in my eyes. I dislike the concepts of the language (although a
few of the non-object based ones are very interesting, such as overloading) and I'm having a hard time
figuring out WHY some things are the way they are.

So… I came up with a good idea I think. I'm a mud coder… and as a mud coder, I have one hell of an ego.

I have yet to meet a single coder who doesn't have an ego big enough to have its own area code, so let's
do what all people with giant egos like to do… debate.

I want to get a debate started about which is better and why C++ has made some of the changes it has.

The structure is simple… I'll post a "feature" of C++ that I disagree with (or perhaps don't fully understand)
and you can post a reply with your thoughts on the "feature"… either agree or disagree. Whatever you'd like.

So lets get this started.

If OOP is supposed to make everything more centralized to a single object, why on earth do 99% of all objects
have their functions defined OUTSIDE of the object? Doesn't that defy the very point of OOP?
13 Jun, 2007, Davion wrote in the 2nd comment:
Ugha said:
If OOP is supposed to make everything more centralized to a single object, why on earth do 99% of all objects
have their functions defined OUTSIDE of the object? Doesn't that defy the very point of OOP?

By object, do you mean 'class'? And if so, methods can and are defined within the class definition itself, so I'm not sure what it's doing outside. eg.
class Bird
{ public:
void sing() { cout << "Cherp. Cherp." << endl; }
};