26 Aug, 2008, war dharok wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hi everyone, this is my introduction/HELP ME thread :tongue:

About a year ago I started to get interested in video game programming (essentially to start making autos in the MMORPG runescape)
Anyways, I started learning C++ and made several cool programs which worked rather well. Lately, Ive become very interested in the programming aspect of how mmorpgs work. After reading a lot about Andrew Gower's (the creator of runescape) first graphical mud called devious mud I decided to start working on my own.

Ive decided to switch to java to make a graphical mud that is browser based. Right now I just need some advice from the community.

1) Is it a good decision to switch to Java to make a browser based mud?

2) Could anyone give me an overall idea on how Muds work? I understand that Ill have to have a server (most likely using my home computer w/ dsl) but how exactly do people join my server? How does the application automatically start? And how is it possible that other people can see other people in the application/graphical mud?

3) Whats a good way to begin for me? I was thinking a good way to start would be to make an irc. Or make an application where people are dots and can move around in a square using the arrow keys. They would be able to see one another and communicated via text.

Any help or info at all would be great. I know making a mud takes a lot of time but I just need some basic info and any ideas or help you have to offer.
26 Aug, 2008, Kayle wrote in the 2nd comment:
Well, my suggestion for you is a simple one.