16 Sep, 2014, Theodrick wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hello everyone!

I'm new to the forums, I've been a long time player of most muds, DR, GS, Achaea, and im trying to figure out what type of mud type/ coding type I should use.

I really like crafting and RPing, so I would really like for my mud to be based around crafting, rping, and of course hack and slash. But I'm just beginning, so I"m not sure which route I should take ((code wise, or MUD wise)).

player owned housing, and being able to customize those plots of lands are a huge plus for me, customizable crafting items are also in the mix.

I would appreciate anyone's input, links, or anything really to set me on the right path.

Many thanks in advance!

Theo.
16 Sep, 2014, roguewombat wrote in the 2nd comment:
Hey Theo, welcome aboard. Do you have a background in any particular programming language, or are you really just looking to start from scratch as a new developer? For a first time project, I'd typically recommend starting with an existing codebase that meets the majority of your needs and customizing from there. Your experience level and preferred language will influence where we can help you dive in.
16 Sep, 2014, quixadhal wrote in the 3rd comment:
A good first decision is if you want a MUD that features a distinct driver/mudlib seperation, where you code the majority of the game in an internal language, modifying the driver only when absolutely necessary? Or the more common game driver, where the game code and the driver are the same, and a change to the game usually requires a reboot?

If the former sounds appealing, and you don't mind a fairly steep learning curve and investing the time to learn a special-purpose language, I'd look into LPMUD systems.
16 Sep, 2014, Nathan wrote in the 4th comment: