04 Dec, 2011, LeMonseural wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I've been playing muds for several year and all of the ones I use to play have vanished over time. I've tinkered with Merc/Godwars/Rom code mostly creating classes and skills (usually looking skills/powers/classes already implemented to create the basic frame of mine) So I decided that I wanted to run my own Godwars type mud (not just open one, rename, add a few skills and call it a modified GW.)

With that being said I picked up a Java book awhile back to get the basic concepts unique to that language as I am a beginner to programming, but I had also saw books on C++/Ruby/Python/and various other languages. My question to the Mudbytes community is what do you think a good language to start out with and learn?
04 Dec, 2011, Rarva.Riendf wrote in the 2nd comment:
So I decided that I wanted to run my own Godwars type mud (not just open one, rename, add a few skills and call it a modified GW.)

With that being said I picked up a Java book awhile back to get the basic concepts unique to that language as I am a beginner to programming

You are doomed to reinvent the wheel, badly.

With that said either pick C if you really want to understand how a computer works, or whatever higher level langage if you want to be productive. (not C++)
Since you say you are a newbie programmer, you would be better off studying a well established codebase, understand how it works and then start tinkering with it. There are codebase in most langage, so pick your poison. since everything is going webbased lately, I suggest you to look for Runters one.
04 Dec, 2011, Kardon wrote in the 3rd comment:
The one in which you feel most comfortable in learning and will not bog you down with low level details. Java is not a bad language to learn. Ruby, Python and C# are friendly to newcomers as well. I do not however recommend C/C++, which unfortunately is what most of the full featured stock bases are programmed in.