31 Jul, 2011, Kline wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
So I'm pretty new to Ruby. As in this is the second functioning script I've written on my own; the first being a policy daemon for Adobe Flash sockets.

I really hate having to think of meals to cook every night of the week. It's like one of my absolute least favorite things to do. So, bless you Ruby, for you have given me a random weekly menu in only 12 lines of code. I dump text files named as recipes into a folder that contain my ingredient list and cooking directions. A PHP shell exec (all I know, sorry, I'm a PHP idiot too!) lets me run it via my browser to my LAN server. F5 and a whole 'nother week is presented :)

Any other cool little niche projects to make home life easier?

Dir.chdir("/home/matt/food")
recipe_list = Dir.glob("*.txt")
recipe_list.collect! { |i| i.chomp(".txt") }

selected = recipe_list.sample(7)
selected.each { |i|
puts i
File.open("#{i}.txt").each_line { |i|
puts i
}
puts ""
}

Sample output:

Just need to add some more meals to my folder and finish writing up the ones I did add :) Simple formatting gives me a 2-3pg long list to print, shop, then cook directly from each week now!
03 Aug, 2011, Runter wrote in the 2nd comment:
Looks good.

I don't have any real complaints, but in the name of constructive criticism..

I think it could be simplified considerably.
Dir.chdir("/home/matt/food")
Dir.glob("*.txt")
.collect { |f| f.chomp(".txt") }
.sample(7)
.each { |file| puts [file, File.open("#{file}.txt").read(), ""] }

Also, I would suggest replacing { } with do .. end for multi-line blocks in the future. It's fairly widely accepted in the ruby community that the {} is for one liners.

# block notation for 1 line
3.times {|i| puts i}

vs

# block notation for multiple lines
100.times do |i|
if (i % 3==1) && (i % 2==1)
puts i
end
end

Glad you're finding every day uses for a high level language. I've got similar food script I use myself. :p
03 Aug, 2011, Kline wrote in the 3rd comment: