07 Jul, 2011, duwnel wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
So I've been developing an RPI game for a few months now, and it has a nice character creation system that you can select aspects such as your sex, name, concept, and assign your core stats.

Right now the "concept" dictates the distribution of points to stat categories, the amount points in abilities that you'll start out with, your greatest sin (an element involved later in a sort of supernatural classing system)… Right now I'm not preserving the concept in the player file, but was toying with using the concept to create a sort of invisible role-playing incentive system to give a small bonus for playing the character according to the concept you took on, and a small penalty for going completely contrary to that concept.

My question is, is this a step too far? Should I leave well enough alone and let people just play their character in whatever manner they choose at whatever point they choose? Or is it reasonably acceptable to say, "Okay, Michael Smith started as The Failure, a snively, wimpy, waste-of-space, pathetic example of a human being; so when he's acting like Rambo with guns blazing it's completely out of character."? Now, of course, there are "change of life events" that may shift your personality and I intend to account for that if I do take this approach, but is this one of those features that'd be considered "useless" or "boring"?

Thanks.
07 Jul, 2011, RoFAdmin wrote in the 2nd comment:
Hello-

Simple answer is no that isnt a step to far. Your basically in some form talking about alignment, which a lot of games do take in to account. Now you may not be talking about alignment specifically, but the concept is the same.