06 May, 2008, Impacatus wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hello everyone. I recently developed an interest in developing mud-like applications. I have very little experience with programming, but I'm learning. I've read beej's guide and I'm starting to understand how sockets work. I realize that the general advice is to start by modifying an existing codebase, but I find I have trouble dissecting a program if it's too big and complex. Therefore, I'm starting with the simplest I could find, socketmud, and the c++ version because that's what I'm most familiar with.

I'm trying to add commands to the socketmud base, but I'm really stuck for some reason. Here's the section I'm working with (part of socketmud.cpp):
// echo everything that each socket has sent to us
for (iSocket = socketList.begin(); iSocket != socketList.end(); ) {
pSocket = *iSocket++;

pSocket->Write(pSocket->GetInBuffer());
pSocket->ClrInBuffer();
}

I try adding an if statement, so that if the user inputs "Hello", the server responds with "World" (Note: I'm typing these just now, not copy/pasting.):
// echo everything that each socket has sent to us
for (iSocket = socketList.begin(); iSocket != socketList.end(); ) {
pSocket = *iSocket++;

if (pSocket->GetInBuffer() == "Hello") {
pSocket->Write("World");
}

pSocket->Write(pSocket->GetInBuffer());
pSocket->ClrInBuffer();
}

However, when I try compiling/running it, telnetting in, and sending "Hello", it just echoes it without sending "World". I've also tried:
if (pSocket->GetInBuffer().compare("Hello"==0) {
pSocket->Write("World");
}

and
if (pSocket->GetInBuffer().compare("Hello\0"==0) {
pSocket->Write("World");
}

Those doesn't work either. What am I doing wrong? Why doesn't the input match? Thanks in advance for any help.
06 May, 2008, Davion wrote in the 2nd comment:
It seems Hello and Hello\r\n aren't the same things! I got it to work using

if(pSocket->GetInBuffer().compare("Hello\r\n") == 0 )
pSocket->Write("World");