12 Mar, 2008, Zeigfreid wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hi

I'm Ziggy, and I'm new to MUDing. I'm interested in building, I've been a DM for a long time, but these days I am finding myself with fewer oportunities and a gradually increasing desire to learn about programing. I've kind of decided that MUDing will be the right way to get started. I've heard that many MUDs begin as pre-built worlds that are customized by their admin… a "codebase"? I'd like to find an RPIMUD (that's how I role) that started this way, so that I can look at the codebase (I use this word very tentatively, correct me if I am using the wrong word here) while I am playing the MUD. I've never done any programing before in my life (mid twenties), but I am looking to learn (by reading, experimenting, and, yes, eventually I would like to use MUD buidering as a sort of sandbox towards my endeavor). I would appreciate help getting started.

Does this make sense? Adult, knows nothing about programing but wants to, using a MUD codebase as a way to have access to a body of code, playing in a MUD built from that codebase to have context for all those letters and numbers. Yes?

Nice to meet you all!

z.

PS MUDing feels like it would be pronounced Mooding… what do you guys say when you mean "to MUD" in the present continuous or as a gerund?
12 Mar, 2008, Tailsthefox wrote in the 2nd comment:
What theme are you looking for?
12 Mar, 2008, Zeigfreid wrote in the 3rd comment:
Hi

Oh, anything I suppose. Fantasy rather than Sci-fi? Something creative? I mean, the more suggestions the merrier so if you have some ideas don't feel you need to cleave to my tastes. Thanks!

z.
12 Mar, 2008, Tailsthefox wrote in the 4th comment:
Well personally I like to stick to anime-themed, But it depends on your personal opinion.
12 Mar, 2008, Mabus wrote in the 5th comment:
First, welcome to the addiction that is MUDding.