31 Jul, 2011, melopene wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
A number of my builders are interested in learning how to write progs (I use the standard version with a few of my own additions), and the standard documentation and Mish's guide don't seem to be doing the trick. Do any of you have guides that you or your staff has written for the absolute novice, and if so, would you be willing to share?

Thankee :)
31 Jul, 2011, Scandum wrote in the 2nd comment:
Lola has an in game hyperlinked helpfile system, though I'm not sure if that'll be much use for ROM systems. It also comes with a couple of 3rd and 4th generation quest areas which are a good resource if you're interested in examples and different approaches to quest design.

It was my experience back in the day that builders who never played my MUD, and as such weren't used to complex area based quests, were useless. It always felt like trying to teach your grandpa how to use a cellphone and I eventually stopped bothering altogether and hand picked the most qualified from the player base.
31 Jul, 2011, Elervan wrote in the 3rd comment:
http://www.ansalonmud.com/building/

Has a lot of building information on it, might be slightly different but it is based on the ROM versions. I know it shows information for Mprogs, but I am not sure if they introduce oprogs/rprogs as well, but they are quite similar in function.
31 Jul, 2011, Rarva.Riendf wrote in the 4th comment:
If yourself know how to code mobprogs in ROM , start by just asking what they want to do, and code it yourself. After while with enough example they can refer to, they can try by themselves. Most guides out there only refer to what is possible with basic ROM. That is, not much.
31 Jul, 2011, Ssolvarain wrote in the 5th comment:
Rarva.Riendf said:
That is, not much.

Once you include the ability to use variables in mprogs, it's like the whole world shifts and the possibilities are just flying.
Alias goes right in there with it. I -love- the alias trigger.