23 Jul, 2010, Rarva.Riendf wrote in the 21st comment:
Votes: 0
'Well, this is a problem pretty much no matter what approach you take.'
Yep but the approach with global char iterator has made it 'in your face explode' (as the pointer is set to NULL) if I forget to test it, a very easy way to handle the bugs one at a time till there are none left (and then probably do a proper delayed extraction or safe iterator once I am sure the code actually already handle it)

'Don't worry, I've done my fair share of MUD (and other) programming. '
I never have any doubt about that, but still you did not actually answer. Have you ever worked with a stock ROM code :p
Your code is valid but IMHO you really underestimate how sucky ROM code is.

(I worked as a coder professionally for 9 years…Stock ROM code made me cry at how it was badly designed)
23 Jul, 2010, David Haley wrote in the 22nd comment:
Yep but the approach with global char iterator has made it 'in your face explode' (as the pointer is set to NULL) if I forget to test it, a very easy way to handle the bugs one at a time till there are none left (and then probably do a proper delayed extraction or safe iterator once I am sure the code actually already handle it)

Well, if your goal is to cause catastrophic failure when character removal is handled poorly, then I guess having it explode in your face is better because you'll get an immediate core dump. I'm kind of a fan of having it not explode, while knowing that I won't iterate over invalid characters. :wink:

(And to be clear, I am not using "catastrophic failure" in a bad way; sometimes forcing crashes really is useful… but not when you have a game that's actually up and running with players etc.)

Have you ever worked with a stock ROM code :p

Yes, I have, although I spent more time with SMAUG, which shares a similar problem (and many others of its own).

Your code is valid but IMHO you really underestimate how sucky ROM code is.