10 Jun, 2009, Havok wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I am a student going to college as a Software Engineering. I have dove into c a little and used the circlemud codebase and editing information and begin my learning experience, but I need some expert advice. I am wondering if I should begin this time doing the same, getting a c codebase and learning the information or convert to a c++ mud and learn c++ instead. Like I said I have not learned enough in c to hurt myself if I go to c++. I could use some advise. I also have two c books called "C for dummies" and "Sams teach yourself C++".
Thanks,
Havok
10 Jun, 2009, David Haley wrote in the 2nd comment:
You're much better off learning C++ than C, as C++ is (basically) a superset of C so you'll only be learning more, and will be able to take advantage of many good features of C++. That's not to say you shouldn't understand the C component, it's just that C++ will give you more knowledge with more immediate payoffs.

But if you're going to college and taking courses, well, you might as well follow the courses. Jumping ahead without understanding things can sometimes create more trouble than it's worth.

I don't have any opinion on those particular books as I don't know anything about them.
10 Jun, 2009, Silenus wrote in the 3rd comment:
I cannot really comment on the books you are using and unlike DH I am more of a programming hobbyist than someone working in the industry. C++ is a far more complex beast than C and many people I have spoken too think it's a bit crufty (overly complex). I suspect developing expertise in C++ takes significantly more time than developing expertise in C. I think most ppl I have spoken to and the research I have done point to a couple books for C and a whole bevy of materials for C++. The books I found quite helpful for C are the K&R book and the Expert C book and as a reference perhaps Plauger's book on the C library.