13 Apr, 2009, David Haley wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Dark Gryphon said:
Hi :biggrin:

I'm rather new to the world of MUD-developing, and I noticed - all the "normal" codebases are completely static, requiring you to open them up and write confusing code into badly named functions.

So, I'm building a new codebase - LamaMUD. It is written in Lua, with some C libraries and a C stub loader. Lama, according to Google Translator, means mud in Portuguese - so my codebase's name is mudMUD. :cool:

The design goal of LamaMUD is to be as flexible as possible, while still being a great MUD development framework. To this end, a huge amount of the code is based around a very simple hook implementation. It will also support basic classes (with far too much metatable magic), and a XML database that directly maps onto Lua datatypes. Players and NPCs will use mostly the same code, through inheritence, to a point where an admin can log onto an NPC and control it.

My dream? That one person uses my code to run their MUD.

Cheers,
Dark Gryphon :evil:

I would definitely be very interested to hear more about this! Do you have anything set up where I can read about this? Or would you be willing to talk more about what you're doing? I'm always interested to hear about what people are doing with MUDs and dynamic languages, especially with Lua :smile:
13 Apr, 2009, Dark Gryphon wrote in the 2nd comment:
Hi David,

The system is currently in a design phase. I am writing code however, mostly to see what works and what doesn't. The simplest hook system I could think of is in the Pastebin right now. I'd say it works similarly to the MediaWiki hook system, if you've ever taken a look at that - except it's Lua-ised.

I have not yet set up a website for the project. I hope to set one up at some point, but only after I've got the very core of the code ready. In the meantime, I'll use these forums to document it's progress. That pastebin thing is cool :cool: