07 Mar, 2009, JohnnyStarr wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hey guys,
I'm still learning ruby and loving it, i'm using it to start a
new code base (mainly for learning purposes) and was wondering if / how threadding would come in to play. I noticed that RocketMud appears to be single threaded. I got this code online and was wondering how this could be implemented:
require "socket"  
dts = TCPServer.new('localhost', 20000)
loop do
Thread.start(dts.accept) do |s|
print(s, " is accepted\n")
s.write(Time.now)
print(s, " is gone\n")
s.close
end
end
07 Mar, 2009, Vassi wrote in the 2nd comment:
See this thread:
http://mudbytes.net/index.php?a=topic&am...

I think it covers most of the bases.
07 Mar, 2009, David Haley wrote in the 3rd comment:
Yes, the long answer to your question is in that thread. The short answer is that you probably really don't want to get involved in threading because it is very complicated and you have to really know what you're doing to get advantages from it, and you also have to really know what you're doing to not bring down your program in flames. :smile:
07 Mar, 2009, JohnnyStarr wrote in the 4th comment:
Well thats cool, i'll have to read up on it.
I do understand threads are in depth in themselves, but my question wasn't as detailed as the other post (thread).

My question was about how the sockets handle incomming connections. Some sites have shown examples of using the built in TCPServer in the 'socket' module. In RocketMud it uses what i believe is called 'non blocking sockets' which runs on a single thread. The code posted earlier adds a new thread for each socket right? David's website about his mud project has tons and tons of cool things it does with threads and thats great and all, and i hope some day to get that advanced.

But i'm just talking about the sockets themselves. not all the layers of game logic and updates etc.
07 Mar, 2009, David Haley wrote in the 5th comment: