27 Apr, 2008, Hades_Kane wrote in the 21st comment:
Votes: 0
Changing cosmetics isn't much of a challenge, but in order to actually customize anything to where it isn't just a stock game with different colors, messaging, and maybe some different races or classes, it takes a lot of time, a lot of dedication, a lot of trial and error, and a lot of hard work.

The reason, I'd say, there are so many thrown together, basically stock games out there is that it doesn't seem like there are nearly as many people who are willing to put real work into their game as there are people content to just throw some snippets in and change some colors around for the sake of being able to "have their own MUD".

Speaking from personal experience, I was a builder on ROM based games for years before even stepping into the code. I started out changing cosmetics, re-doing the scoresheet, and installing some basic snippets. Much of the first year of me working on the codebase was a matter of learning what does what, where goes where, and learning to understand the basics of the programming language. About two years later, I finally feel capable enough to be comfortable being the primary person responsible for bug fixes and code changes/additions.

If you are serious about running your own game, you don't have an easy road ahead of you if you want something unique, fun, and resembling the theme you were talking about running with.

If you don't feel capable or dedicated enough to take a couple of years learning your codebase by trial and error, I'd have a few suggestions for you:

1) Find a game close to what you are wanting to do and see if you can contribute there.