MudBytes
Pages: << prev 1, 2 next >>
Web Based OLC
JohnnyStarr
Wizard






Group: Members
Posts: 996
Joined: Feb 14, 2009

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#1 id:20068 Posted Feb 14, 2009, 9:46 am

Hey,

Does anyone know of any Web Based OLC projects out there?
Like, i have nothing against OLC or GUI offline builders.
But i cant access telnet at work, only web. So it would be ideal to be able
to build my areas, mobs, objects etc, from just a web browser.

If not, i'm thinking about developing one with PHP/MySQL. I'm running a ROM mud
and i still use traditional ROM area files. So, i'm wondering if i should store all the
data in a MySQL db and convert them, or if i should just have it where you can upload a .are file and use Session Variables to edit and save.

Sorry, my post is more or less a ton of questions.
Does this sound useful to anyone else?
.........................
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-RdaO2sGy6Jo/UXqmRANiPpI/AAAAAAAAARM/FkgyUR1PIuc/s1600/starrlab-logo.png

Idealiad
Wizard




Group: Members
Posts: 925
Joined: Jan 28, 2007

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#2 id:20076 Posted Feb 14, 2009, 2:23 pm

Maybe you could try a web-based ssh client instead?

Zeno
Wizard






Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,463
Joined: May 15, 2006

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#3 id:20077 Posted Feb 14, 2009, 4:30 pm

If you put your MUD on something like http://mudgamers.com/ you can access it via flash and not telnet.
.........................
-Zeno McDohl,
Owner of Bleached InuYasha Galaxy.
Zenorebirth: Free MUD host.
Learn how to build in Smaug at Smaug Building Institute.
Dragonball Z World is back: dbzw.uforce-hq.net 4000

Skol
Wizard






Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: May 17, 2006

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#4 id:20080 Posted Feb 14, 2009, 6:31 pm

Staryavsky, i think it could prove completely useful yeah.
I've actually considered that myself. Like a graph paper grid and you enter start/end vnum, click on a block and have the room stuff to the right (pulldown of sectors, buttons of room flags, fields for name/desc etc). Have room color change from like dark grey to whatever sector the room is.
I think have a 'dig' button to just click on rooms and dig them all out, then a 'link' button to make doors between (perhaps a 1-link/2-link for one/two-way links), then a side menu again for exit flags/doors etc.
I know I could build an area MUCH faster through that sort of an interface.

I'm not even sure that it'd need to have MySQL just have it write when you hit done. Although it would definitely be easier to link to a database heh. (And you wouldn't have one giant 'write area').

Anyway yeah, I'd thought of one too and found it would be a good idea.
.........................
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Skol/Dave/Zivilyn

http://www.ansalonmud.net/images/ansalon_banner_2008.jpg
www.AnsalonMUD.net

Ansalon & Rom Builders Guide
Rom Area Sanctuary

Skol
Wizard






Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: May 17, 2006

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#5 id:20081 Posted Feb 14, 2009, 6:34 pm

Ps. On a side note, have the PHP page pull the tables from the source files on room flags, exit flags, sectors etc, to create the menu. That way the menu is always current.
.........................
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Skol/Dave/Zivilyn

http://www.ansalonmud.net/images/ansalon_banner_2008.jpg
www.AnsalonMUD.net

Ansalon & Rom Builders Guide
Rom Area Sanctuary

Davion
Idle Hand






Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,789
Joined: May 14, 2006

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#6 id:20087 Posted Feb 15, 2009, 1:29 am

staryavsky said:

If not, i'm thinking about developing one with PHP/MySQL. I'm running a ROM mud
and i still use traditional ROM area files. So, i'm wondering if i should store all the
data in a MySQL db and convert them, or if i should just have it where you can upload a .are file and use Session Variables to edit and save.

If you decide to stick with flat files, you can use this php code to load up your area files with PHP. May not be everything you're looking for, but it may help.
.........................
http://mudbytes.net/mudbytessignature-davion2.png

Skol
Wizard






Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: May 17, 2006

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#7 id:20090 Posted Feb 15, 2009, 10:06 am

Awesome Davion
.........................
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Skol/Dave/Zivilyn

http://www.ansalonmud.net/images/ansalon_banner_2008.jpg
www.AnsalonMUD.net

Ansalon & Rom Builders Guide
Rom Area Sanctuary

JohnnyStarr
Wizard






Group: Members
Posts: 996
Joined: Feb 14, 2009

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#8 id:20096 Posted Feb 15, 2009, 6:04 pm

Wow! thanks for all the info guys, thanks allot for the code as well.

:robot:
.........................
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-RdaO2sGy6Jo/UXqmRANiPpI/AAAAAAAAARM/FkgyUR1PIuc/s1600/starrlab-logo.png

teknozwizard
Apprentice




Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: Aug 19, 2009

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#9 id:32437 Posted Aug 26, 2009, 8:01 am

I've actually decided to do something similar by using VB 2008 EE (ducks because he knows there are people around that think VB is of the Devil and deserves to burn in hell for all eternity along with anyone that programs it!), for our mud simply because I'm rather lazy. And instead of writing up macros for everything, I thought of making a WFA that allowed me to mark a few check boxes and select a few options from a drop down list and type in a couple of descriptions here and there and then hit a submit button and then all that information I entered is submitted to the mud using the correct word. For instance, you open up my building editor and along the top you've got 1 check box next to each of the following words "Room | Mob | Object | Mprog" and to the side of that, you've got two check boxes next to the words "Create | Edit". Now, my theory is that if I can figure out VB 2008 EE appropriately, then I can actually program a function that'll check against which boxes are checked and use the appropriate word when submitted to the mud.

For instance, you've got Room and Create checked. A little further down the form, you've got all of the necessary room functions like name, description, room flags, exit flags, etc. You go through and you put in the name, and then you put in all the other stuff you want to put in and when you click submit it spits out

Code (text):
redit create <vnum>
name <blah>
room <flags>
description <blah>
<list exit creation and linking here>


That way, builders are at least twice as fast. But, it's still a theory and I'm still working on it. I'm not very good at VB programming. I'm figuring that I'd have to write a couple of class libraries to hold all of the commands in to pull from, but I'm not certain. Like I said, I'm still working on it.

Zenn
Sorcerer




Group: Members
Posts: 292
Joined: Apr 18, 2007

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#10 id:32445 Posted Aug 26, 2009, 8:48 am

I've always wanted to be able to use Portal's cartographer for building, because it's a wonderful tool.

That's impossible though, unfortunately. Maybe when(if) it becomes open-source.
.........................



quixadhal
Wizard






Group: Members
Posts: 2,622
Joined: Oct 17, 2007

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#11 id:38212 Posted Nov 27, 2009, 12:48 am

Necro alert!

I've recently been pondering the idea of a graphical mapping tool, partly for building, but also for spelunking into my old mud.  There are no physical maps of the world (any that existed are lost to time), and of course, the world file is only marginally helpful because it's non-euclidean AND doesn't have coordinates.

I found the Freemind utility, which is almost what I'm thinking of... but because it's designed for ideas, it automatically does the layout and arrangement.  To draw maps, you'd want to be able to associate things with left/right/up/down orientation towards one another.

In other words, ideally I'd like to stick a bubble down for my starting village.  Then stick bubbles down for the grasslands around it, the hills, the goblin village, the big city, etc... Then expand the bubbles into places of interest, shops, trainers, etc... and then expand those into actual maps with points for each room.

If I didn't hate Java, I'd be tempted to try and figure out how to hack that thing to do my bidding. :)

Anyone else know of a folding map editor?
.........................
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-vYoSYr4luwg/UdpJ_fYLt8I/AAAAAAAAAUw/B-8sQAoGOtA/s800/MUDBYTES_zps028f0a68.gifhttps://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-S1rE61rTCMM/UdrboSwRJsI/AAAAAAAAAYI/MVUkOP_baKs/s800/kool-aid_zpsf0068bff.png

David Haley
Wizard






Group: Members
Posts: 7,841
Joined: Jun 30, 2007

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#12 id:38213 Posted Nov 27, 2009, 1:05 am

Personally, I'd use GraphViz if you want to automatically lay out nodes with relationships to each other. The language for specifying graphs is pretty easy to use, too, and it figures out all the layout. I don't think you can easily specify left/right/up/down, though (although you can give it hints).
.........................
-- d.c.h --
BabbleMUD Project (custom codebase)
Legends of the Darkstone (head coder)
http://david.the-haleys.org
.........................

quixadhal
Wizard






Group: Members
Posts: 2,622
Joined: Oct 17, 2007

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#13 id:38215 Posted Nov 27, 2009, 1:45 am

Hmmm, nice.  I wish it offered a little more control over grouping and direction, but it's close.  I wonder if that's what this site uses for generating the EVE system maps?
.........................
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-vYoSYr4luwg/UdpJ_fYLt8I/AAAAAAAAAUw/B-8sQAoGOtA/s800/MUDBYTES_zps028f0a68.gifhttps://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-S1rE61rTCMM/UdrboSwRJsI/AAAAAAAAAYI/MVUkOP_baKs/s800/kool-aid_zpsf0068bff.png

quixadhal
Wizard






Group: Members
Posts: 2,622
Joined: Oct 17, 2007

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#14 id:38241 Posted Nov 27, 2009, 3:21 pm

I found this program (yEd), which is kindof a cross between visio and freemind.  It's a little dicey when you have overlaps (IE: two seperate buildings that sit at the same location but each have internal maps), but you'd expect that.  Not sure if there's a way to scale a group of objects so they'd expand out and fit right... maybe. :)
.........................
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-vYoSYr4luwg/UdpJ_fYLt8I/AAAAAAAAAUw/B-8sQAoGOtA/s800/MUDBYTES_zps028f0a68.gifhttps://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-S1rE61rTCMM/UdrboSwRJsI/AAAAAAAAAYI/MVUkOP_baKs/s800/kool-aid_zpsf0068bff.png

David Haley
Wizard






Group: Members
Posts: 7,841
Joined: Jun 30, 2007

Go to the bottom of the page Go to the top of the page
#15 id:38242 Posted Nov 27, 2009, 3:50 pm

GraphViz lets you create subgraphs, by the way, such that all components of a subgraph will be "boxed" together. But maybe it's not worth fighting with it too much, because it really isn't a mapping program but an abstract graph renderer of sorts.
.........................
-- d.c.h --
BabbleMUD Project (custom codebase)
Legends of the Darkstone (head coder)
http://david.the-haleys.org
.........................

Pages:<< prev 1, 2 next >>