11 Nov, 2016, Merryweather wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I've been toying around with a SWRFOTE codebase for awhile now in my spare time, and I really kinda love it. Unfortunately, however, what I know how to do with code is a result of exploring codebases over the years, then piecing bits together until it does what I want it to. I am not good at this by any means. I'm hoping somebody (an actual coder) might be able to take one look at this and pinpoint what I'm doing wrong.

The idea is to have a "voice" command that allows the user to select a vocal tone from a predesignated list. This is heavily inspired by LOTJ's tone system, which I've always adorned.

To start, here is my voice.c file:

#include <sys/types.h>
#include <ctype.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <time.h>
#include <unistd.h>
#include "mud.h"

char * const voice_names[] = {
"none", "squeaky", "angry", "unknown"
};

int const voice_array[] = {
VOICE_NONE, VOICE_SQUEAKY, VOICE_ANGRY, VOICE_UNKNOWN
};

void do_voice( CHAR_DATA *ch, char *argument )
{
int voices;
char arg[MAX_INPUT_LENGTH];

argument = one_argument(argument, arg );

for ( voices = 0; voice_array[voices] != VOICE_UNKNOWN; voices++ )
if ( !str_prefix( arg, voice_names[voices] ) )
{
ch->vocalizing = voice_array[voices];
set_char_color( AT_SAY, ch );
ch_printf( ch, "You now sound %s.\n\r", voice_names[voices] );
return;
}
set_char_color( AT_SAY, ch );
send_to_char( "That is not a tone of voice you can use.\n\r", ch );
}

As far as I can tell in testing, voice.c seems to be working fine. I can set a voice in-game, I can change it, and entering "voice fduhsfd" tells you it's not a valid voice.

Where I run into trouble is when trying to use voice in channels or the say command. For example, this is the chat channel, with ch->vocalizing added in to it:

{

ch_printf( vch, "Public Comm [Freq: %s]: (%d) %s%s%s%s %s\n\r", ch->comfreq, ch->vocalizing, color_str(AT_CHAT, vch),
IS_IMMORTAL(vch) ? " &R(&W" : "",