05 Jun, 2007, Ugha wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I'm not much of a linux guru… especially on the development side of things.

During my years as a mud coder, I've basicly only learned what I needed about linux
to keep the mud up and running… so I've got massive holes in my knowledge of
the operating system.

I know how DOS programming works… I know how Windows programming works (god
I hate microsoft) but I'm a little vague on linux.

The major thing I'm wondering is… how important is multithreading to Linux and
how is it done in C?
05 Jun, 2007, Tyche wrote in the 2nd comment:
Ugha said:
how is it done in C?

I can answer the latter. It works pretty much the same as it does in Windows except different named functions and locking primatives. I wrote an example mutlithreaded example server in C++, Paradigm 3, which ought to compile both in Windows and Unix. That it's C++ shouldn't present an obstacle as you'd do it the same way in C for the most part.
18 Oct, 2008, Runter wrote in the 3rd comment:
If you happen to be using C++ you might look into the boost::thread library. It makes doing multiple threads for anything just about as easy as it gets for C or C++:

#include <boost/thread/thread.hpp>
#include <stdio.h>
using namespace boost;

void hello_world() {
printf("Hello world.\n");
}

int main(int argc, char* argv[]) {
thread t(&hello_world);

t.join();
return 0;
}

The above code will create a new thread and run our hello_world function in it.
join() simply waits for the thread in question to finish execution.
18 Oct, 2008, elanthis wrote in the 4th comment:
Ugha said:
how is it done in C?