24 Mar, 2007, Davion wrote in the 21st comment:
Votes: 0
Darien, My post wasn't to specifically take a jab at you or Sandstorm. I more or less was saying what I expect in a codebase. I used you as an example because you explained the beast that is Sandstorm previously in this thread. And as far as barely touching it goes, that's not entirely true. I went through Sandstorm over and over finding and fixing the odd bugs here and there. I got to know Sandstorm alright. My main beef was that it was huge and the features didn't justify the size (you rolling back to an older version to cut back is also proof of this.) You had a ton of uniqueness which was refreshing, you also had a lot of waisted code, and unused code. I attempted to run Splint on it, but that scared the hell out of me. It was half ported to C++, and the implementation of the C++ was contrary to the flow of the code that is Sandstorm. Being a self taught coder just trying to learn C++, I couldn't expect you to port it to C++ like a pro like you may be able to do (or have done) now.

Sandi, I don't understand why you're so hesitant to release it. It sounds like you have quite the codebase there. One that may blow a breath of fresh air in the ROM community. If one person uses your codebase, isn't that enough to justify its release? I guess you also have to decide what you want from releasing the codebase.
24 Mar, 2007, Conner wrote in the 22nd comment:
Davion said:
Sandi, I don't understand why you're so hesitant to release it. It sounds like you have quite the codebase there. One that may blow a breath of fresh air in the ROM community. If one person uses your codebase, isn't that enough to justify its release? I guess you also have to decide what you want from releasing the codebase.