12 Aug, 2015, Tyche wrote in the 21st comment:
Votes: 0
The memory allocation routines were first added in Merc 2.0.
They have made their way into other derivatives.

It's a one line change to add more string space.

I wrote a fixed memory allocator for LE, using the same notion of allocating a fixed pool for each type of object.
It tracks statistics and can be navigated.
It didn't include it in Murk++.

[link=pastebin]75292[/link]
13 Aug, 2015, Rhien wrote in the 22nd comment:
I apologize, this is rambly.

I think these old code bases like anything have pros and cons. By trade, I'm a .Net/SQL developer. I think in terms in objects and I can't tell you the last time I've had to seriously worry about memory or strings, I bulk loaded 10GB of data today from C# without so much as a blip (although my mind numbs when people abstract things to an unintelligible level which is why most modern muds don't keep my attention). I've picked up some object oriented muds and they never seem any easier to work than any Diku I've worked on (although with much easier debugging and much less error prone memory management). Although as I say this earlier today I was wishing C had some kind easy to use reflection to get function names from code without putting them in a table, anyway (I moved my skill table into OLC).

I've recently picked up my ROM 2.4 derivative I've worked on and off on since 1998, put it on GitHub and perhaps it's just nostalgia but it has a charm to it. I mostly code on my Linux box but I've also got it compiling in Visual Studio 2015 which makes coding way faster (intellisense and being able to real time debug where it stops on a line of code that crashes and circles my bone headed mistake without having to get into GDB).