28 Feb, 2015, capntroz wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hello Im new to unix/linux and c. i used to do room descriptions and item creation for deaths gate before it opened and also for forbidden lands mud tho never got into coding. I have experience with pascal and the various basic languages. My question is im running circle 3.1 and i want to make it so the players start with some low level items. also when i gave my test guy a backpack and he enters the game the backpack is emptied into his inventory. any advice as where to start on these two issues?
28 Feb, 2015, Kardon wrote in the 2nd comment:
From the CircleMUD FAQ:
1.2. I'm new to C and/or coding. What do I do?

First, a MUD is not a learning project. It has tens of thousands of lines to
it, many of which are obscure and unclear to even moderately skilled
programmers. Those little, ``Hello, world,'' programs are for learning,
maybe little math tests, etc. A MUD is a pretty ambitous project to start
with. That's like trying to run before you can walk, and while there's more
difficult things than a MUD to start with, there's a ton of easier things
you should start with. Second, if you are persistent, get a good C
reference book and read the code, try to comprehend what everything is doing
(to some small extent). You should probably avoid comm.c as it is home to
the socket functions which general C books don't cover and are usually
explained in other books on network programming. Then try small projects,
something similar to what already exists. This way, you can get away with a
cut-and-paste job and changing some of the code. Adding a simple version of
races isn't all that difficult, just examine the class code in class.c and
the CON_QCLASS block in interpreter.c, cut, paste, and modify. Also look at
structs.h, for "#define CLASS_" You'll begin understanding more and more of
the code as you copy and change it, eventually you'll be able to write a