25 Mar, 2013, Zeno wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I'm finally putting up my MUD on Bitbucket/Github via git and I'm wondering about how others handle some things like:

Do you push player files?
    Do you push area files?
    Do you automate git commit/push, since area files are constantly being changed by builders?
    If you have a dev & live environment, do you make multiple repos for that?

[EDIT] It's private, yes
25 Mar, 2013, Kline wrote in the 2nd comment:
When I was still running an active game I kept backups via subversion (dated…!) and kept them of everything. Player files, areas, code; the works. Made it very handy to rollback a pfile if a bug corrupted it or some other issues happened. I don't really see any reasons to not push all your data as long as it's kept private / restricted.
25 Mar, 2013, Davenge wrote in the 3rd comment:
I'm not very good with git, so I only added my .c's and .h's.
25 Mar, 2013, Tyche wrote in the 4th comment:
I can understand using git.
Why Github?
26 Mar, 2013, Lyanic wrote in the 5th comment:
I don't recommend the player files repo. There would be limited usefulness in a complete rollback of all files. Typically, you only want to roll back one or a few, but the nature of git makes that more complex than it should be. You can get the functionality you need via simpler mechanisms - such as the old-fashioned backup script (which transfers off-site daily).

Yes, to pushing area files to their own repository, but I haven't tried an automated approach for it.

As to repositories for separate dev/prod environments, that depends entirely on whether you're making changes to production (I'd argue you shouldn't, but that's an argument for another time). If you're not, prod doesn't need its own repositories for most things (unless you're versioning the player files, or wish to do so with other constantly changing data).