11 Mar, 2013, Exodus wrote in the 61st comment:
Votes: 0
Rarva.Riendf said:
What IS it about?

Academic stuff (a little of everything to grasp how a computer work, down to the circuitry), nothing actually useful to program in itself, but all those things that self taught programmer lack in general cause it is not exactly 'productive'. Good practices, like a real grasp at how to use objects in an effective way, building databases.
Sure all those can be learned by book, like any education. But having tutors is also nice. Also, being forced to use good practices helps.

And be prepared to learn about the very first computers, including Charles Babbage in 1822 or something and a whole bunch of irrelevant things only related to modern computing by a timeline.
12 Mar, 2013, quixadhal wrote in the 62nd comment:
The most useful things you learn at college have nothing to do with the classwork. Learning how to work together with others, and expanding your mindset beyond the tiny one you grew up with, or the super-specialized ones you get from your coworkers, is actually kinda valuable and pretty hard to pick up without many years at many different jobs…. or a few years at a school that has tons of different people.
12 Mar, 2013, Nathan wrote in the 63rd comment:
Exodus said:
Rarva.Riendf said:
What IS it about?

Academic stuff (a little of everything to grasp how a computer work, down to the circuitry), nothing actually useful to program in itself, but all those things that self taught programmer lack in general cause it is not exactly 'productive'. Good practices, like a real grasp at how to use objects in an effective way, building databases.
Sure all those can be learned by book, like any education. But having tutors is also nice. Also, being forced to use good practices helps.

And be prepared to learn about the very first computers, including Charles Babbage in 1822 or something and a whole bunch of irrelevant things only related to modern computing by a timeline.