05 Jan, 2013, thucar wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hey.

Just took up ROM 2.4b6 codebase and am rebuilding it quite extensively. The problem is, I have no prior C experience but with my 5 years of PHP I'm making good progress.

Anyhow, the issue I'm having is: I need to get the name of the weapon skill being used by the opponent, in a fight.

The reason for this is I'm trying to use different damage messages for different weapons.
I set up a new table for the messages and I look up the correct message by skill name.

So now I've rewritten the end of dam_message with
sn = number_range(0, MAX_FORMS-1);
sk = form_lookup (skill_table[get_weapon_sn (ch)].name);
if (sk >=0)
pForm = form_table[sk].data[sn].messages[0];
else
pForm = "You hit";
esn = number_range(0, MAX_FORMS-1);
esk = form_lookup (skill_table[get_weapon_sn (victim)].name);
if (esk >=0)
eForm = form_table[esk].data[esn].messages[1];
else
eForm = "hits";

<–>

sprintf (buf1, "{3$n %s and %s $N%c{x", eForm, vp, punct);
sprintf (buf2, "{2%s and %s $N%c{x", pForm, vs, punct);
sprintf (buf3, "{4$n %s and %s you%c{x", eForm, vp, punct);

It works fine for the attacker. But the defender is considered to always hold the same weapon as the attacker:
<812hp 100m 100mv> 
A practice dummy swings their axe and misses you.
You swing your axe and miss a practice dummy.
A practice dummy is in awful condition.

<812hp 100m 100mv> wield spear
You stop using a wooden axe.
You wield a wooden spear.
You don't even know which end is up on a wooden spear.
A practice dummy brings their spear up in an upwards arc and scratches you.
You bring your spear up in an upwards arc and miss a practice dummy.
A practice dummy is in awful condition.

Also, the bystander sees:
A practice dummy swings their axe and misses Bob.
Bob hits and misses a practice dummy.

<1500hp 330m 460mv>
Bob stops using a wooden axe.
Bob wields a wooden spear.
A practice dummy brings their spear up in an upwards arc and scratches Bob.