30 Sep, 2007, Ryanicus wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hey Folks,

Since the questions I've posted so far have yielded good information, I will surely continue to read and post. I got the skeleton of the website up & running with QSFP. The next thing I wanted was a link to the mud so I added
<a href="telnet://lush.mcp-server.com:1234">Connect to ShillMUD.</a>
into the news. When I click the link it opens a telnet window saying it's connecting…… then it tries port 23, fails and closes. I'm really confused by this because it works perfectly when I run the telnet from start > run.

I realize telnet's not the best client to introduce someone to a mud and it also excludes macs and vista users. I know some sites use applets but I have no experience with java and only limited experience with web design. Is it possible to just plug something in and aim it at my mud? Thanks again.

-R
30 Sep, 2007, Zeno wrote in the 2nd comment:
Code looks fine to me. What site has it on there?
30 Sep, 2007, Ryanicus wrote in the 3rd comment:
30 Sep, 2007, Guest wrote in the 4th comment:
Clicking on the telnet link worked just fine for me. Launched SecureCRT ( my system's default telnet client ) and produced your login screen.

What telnet program did it open when you clicked on it?
30 Sep, 2007, Zeno wrote in the 5th comment:
Yep the link works for me too.
30 Sep, 2007, Hades_Kane wrote in the 6th comment:
Works for me. I'm using WinXP Pro with the default telnet client.
01 Oct, 2007, Vladaar wrote in the 7th comment:
Hey guys,

Try this one, and level to avatar, for some reason it doesn't work for me. Heh, j/k guys, yes I got jokes today.
Sorry for hijacking your post, I was bored.

telnet://6dragons.org:4000/
01 Oct, 2007, Ryanicus wrote in the 8th comment:
No prob. I'm not ready for players anyhow.

I still can't connect. It just opens a telnet window before failing and closing within a second. If it's working for everyone else, that's good enough for me. Thanks for testing it.

-R