12 Apr, 2007, Mystic wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hey , Im Mystic

Im new to this whole "MUD" thing but ive been playing a few muds on and off until quite recently ive decided to try make my own mud. Yes I know I will need to learn "Coding" and many other thing. I no Visual Basics 6 but thats about it. Im just wanting to know what code base I should use? Some links to Tutorials or anything thats helpful for a Noob would be nice. I want something with basic features but with alot of potential and is very stable. I have a couple of friends who are welling to help also.

I'm completely newbie to this whole mud thing so I would be happy for anyones helping me to understand how it all works and everything. I've looked at wiki and its helped me a bit but I won't some help from people have have made and played muds.

I've played WoW, CS, Americas Army , Jk3 and a bunch of other games. But until recently ive been in texted based as I like the thougth of imaging the world in my perspective. Thanks.

:biggrin:
12 Apr, 2007, KaVir wrote in the 2nd comment:
You might find it better to join an existing project, where others can help you learn the ropes. Once you're more confident, you could then try creating your own mud.
12 Apr, 2007, syn wrote in the 3rd comment:
Yeah, most find it easier, and better to play on a certain base for a while (year +) to really get to know it before you even choose to work on a MUD.

I think you would do yourself great favor learning all the aspects of your favorite codebase by playing through it, exploring, seeing how it works as a living breathing world. Then take a look under the hood. In the meantime you could get some c, c++ (or whatever language your codebase of choice is in) books and start doing some exercises to learn the stuff youll need to work on your codebase once your intimately familiar with it.

Good Luck in any event :)

-Syn
12 Apr, 2007, Brinson wrote in the 4th comment:
KaVir said: