09 Jun, 2011, JohnnyStarr wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I've been learning Ruby on Rails for about 3 months, and it's really been fun.
I have created a few web apps, and I have decided to create a shared mud building environment that would allow collaboration across mud platforms.

The idea would be to generate shareable records of generalized data. Such as Rooms, Objs, Mobs, etc.
These could be created and committed to the universal library. A standard would have to be agreed upon for generic mud data. Now, the cool part is configuration. Meaning, once you have created YOUR area / zone you would decide on output. The site would allow you to designate generic values to static area file values.

An example might be:
room_description => ROM.room.short_description
room_description => SMAUG.room.short
room_description => CUSTOM_MUD.room.room_description

Obviously SMAUG doesn't have a room.short field, but it's an example of how you could designate the values based on standard OR custom output.

This is very useful for admins with little coding experience who haven't really customized their stock codebases.

Summary:
The site would be live, and available to all to maintain their mud's areas.
The project would of course be open source, so if you wanted to customize it to your liking, and run it on your server you could (which would allow the output of your files to be stored directly into your area folder if desired)
Those who wanted to share areas, and game objects could do so if they wanted to.
Those who wanted a private storehouse for OLC through a web browser would have 24/7 access.

Now, before I get this going, does this sound good to anyone else? Is anyone interested in getting involved with this project?

Discuss :)
09 Jun, 2011, Zeno wrote in the 2nd comment:
http://www.mudconnect.com/discuss/discus...

I'm still learning Rails but I'm all for helping out. I'll try not to break things and contribute what I can while I learn? ;)