24 Apr, 2011, Sryth wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hey folks,

I've been using Netbeans as my IDE of choice for quite some time, it is cross-platform and has support for every language that I use with good tools.

Unfortunately, netbeans is stopping support for python with version 7. (python support has been a community plugin anyway) So I'm forced to find something new.

I'm trying out wingware's python specific IDE and I like it a lot, the license is quite fair and it seems to have everything I need for python at least. I thought I'd post and see what others use as well though.
24 Apr, 2011, Dean wrote in the 2nd comment:
Whenever I've done something in python, I've used IDLE. I honestly can't say whether or not it is as good as others out there as I'm a red faced novice, but it seemed to work well enough for me.
24 Apr, 2011, Runter wrote in the 3rd comment:
I searched long and hard for a great editor/IDE that could fit my minimalist style.

Textmate

It's good enough that I paid 60 dollars for a license.
24 Apr, 2011, Sryth wrote in the 4th comment:
Dean,

IDLE is quite fine for occasional projects. If python isn't a main language for you it should be all you need.

Runter,

I like Textmate myself as an editor, unfortunately it is Mac only. Any solution for me has to be cross-platform.

Thanks for the input so far guys. Anyone else have a favourite?
24 Apr, 2011, Idealiad wrote in the 5th comment:
For a long time I've used SciTE on Windows, though to be relevant to the topic it's not really an IDE, but rather something like an even more stripped down Textmate. More recently though I'm using Emacs. If you don't mind its quirks it's really great. Vim is also an option, but in my opinion its lack of support for asynchronous operations doesn't lend itself to dynamic languages like Python. The other Python IDEs seem somewhat interchangeable to me, and not really worth investing much time in.