06 Aug, 2010, Kjwah wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Anyone playing? My friend finally bugged me enough to install it and I have to say, it's quite awesome. Just curious if anyone else is playing.

I just started today so I'm a total newb but it's still fun. Helps that I have some friends that play though.
06 Aug, 2010, Ssolvarain wrote in the 2nd comment:
Looks interesting. Free to play, aside from the need to purchase champions?
06 Aug, 2010, Kjwah wrote in the 3rd comment:
Ssolvarain said:

Which you can buy with champion points or something that you earn from playing.

I think the only thing that really costs money are the skins if I'm not mistaken.
06 Aug, 2010, Elvarlyn wrote in the 4th comment:
Kjwah said:
Ssolvarain said:

I think the only thing that really costs money are the skins if I'm not mistaken.

You are almost correct. There are also 'boosts' which drastically improve the rate at which you gain experience and IP that can only be purchased with real money.

There are many, many champions and each week, 10 of them are free. Others can be purchased with Riot Points (bought for RL money) or IP (which one gains from playing). If one buys champions with Riot Points, they have more IP to spend on runes… but you don't have to. I'm max-level with many hundreds of games played and I've never spent a cent.
06 Aug, 2010, Kjwah wrote in the 5th comment:
Elvarlyn said:
Kjwah said:
Ssolvarain said:

You are almost correct. There are also 'boosts' which drastically improve the rate at which you gain experience and IP that can only be purchased with real money.

There are many, many champions and each week, 10 of them are free. Others can be purchased with Riot Points (bought for RL money) or IP (which one gains from playing). If one buys champions with Riot Points, they have more IP to spend on runes… but you don't have to. I'm max-level with many hundreds of games played and I've never spent a cent.