05 Jun, 2010, Katiara wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I am not a computer programmer. I do not know how code works and in general avoid MudBytes because I know I can not give any intelligent input. Simply put, most of my commentary would be a waste of time and space for most users.

I have however been around for a long time. I have seen many changes, for good and bad, and watched the general evolution of the mud community. I am well versed in how to actually play MUDS and think I do a decent job of running my MUD (I guess you would have to ask my staff to get the truth.)

I have met a few people in the community and I am married to Kayle, as most of you already know. Although Kayle is very active in the coding aspect of things, he and I do not often share the same opinion just as most married couples. I dont blindly back his actions and I assure you, I am the first one to disagree if I feel it is warranted.

All of that being said, I felt it might be time to stop by MudBytes and give a different point of view. One that many of you, especially the Admins, overlook. A point of view from an average person working on a MUD, learning when she can.

The old adage power leads to corruption is what I see at MudBytes and have seen since I married into the coding community so to speak. The Admins themselves are nice, decent people. At some point though, they decide the site now belongs to them, a person, and not a community.

This site is intended for the civil use of our members. This is the first line from the rules listed on MudBytes. Ironically, I think this is the one thing violated most often. Admins and often Moderators decide that someone or thing shouldnt be posted based on his/her own beliefs of what is best and right, not taking a moment to think about the members.