15 Jun, 2007, atrofast wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Greetings everybody,

I'm trying to compile ROM using g++ so I can make use of some OO functionality. While it compiles it crashes once I boot it.
Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
get_room_index__Fi (vnum=3502) at db.c:2821
2821 if ( pRoomIndex->vnum == vnum )
(gdb) bt
#0 get_room_index__Fi (vnum=3502) at db.c:2821
#1 0x0807047c in fix_exits__Fv () at db.c:1631
#2 0x0806eb46 in boot_db__Fv () at db.c:540
#3 0x08069202 in main (argc=2, argv=0xbffffc94) at comm.c:425
#4 0x4007f54d in __libc_start_main () from /lib/libc.so.6

I can't figure out why it crashes there. Has anybody written a guide to how to convert ROM to be g++ compatible? I'm a good programmer when it comes to languages such as Java and VB.Net, I've never really worked with C++ and g++ so I understand there is a learning curve.
Thanks!

Alex
15 Jun, 2007, Davion wrote in the 2nd comment:
Don't really have a guide, but I have ROM converted to use g++ already. Check it out, maybe run a diff with yours to see where you went wrong.
15 Jun, 2007, Ugha wrote in the 3rd comment:
I'm no C++ expert, but I'm just curious… are you sure room 3502 exists? Have you modified the area.lst?
15 Jun, 2007, atrofast wrote in the 4th comment:
Yes the room exists… There has been no modifications to the areas and when compiled with gcc it works just fine.
I'm getting the g++ version of ROM thanks for the quick posts!

Alex
15 Jun, 2007, Justice wrote in the 5th comment:
Just wondering, have you converted room_index_data into a class? I've noticed that with C++ alot of pointers initialize to a value other than NULL. In this case, the null check will pass, but the code will crash when you try to access a member.
16 Jun, 2007, atrofast wrote in the 6th comment: