07 Mar, 2010, Kayle wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
As many of you no doubt realized by now, my wife and I have been working on a Star Wars MUD, and we'v– I've been writing our Space and Force systems from the ground up. And I'd decided that this was as good a time as any to teach myself the concepts of inheritance and polymorphism, and really start to play with OO design. But after looking it over, I can't help but wonder if I'm maybe over complicating an already complex beast such as Space, by trying to work with something I'm not entirely familiar with.

So I decided tonight, since I got the first stage to compile and run in the MUD for the first time that before I went any further, I'd step back and evaluate and see if this path was truely worthwhile. First off, SW:TSW is being built off of SmaugFUSS, so I'd only be gaining OO Designs in the Space and Force systems without a tremendous amount of work retrofitting SmaugFUSS to be OO itself. Secondly, I'm just learning these concepts so I'm bound to do something wrong, and for something as integral to the theme as Space and Force, I'd really prefer to avoid that. So now on to the meat…

This is the base Ship class, minus the get/set functions, and other public functions and data members.
class Ship 
{
private:
Ship( const Ship & );
Ship &operator = ( const Ship & );

public:
Ship( );
~Ship( );

private:
Room *m_FirstRoom; //First Room the ship takes up.
Room *m_LastRoom; //Last Room the ship takes up.
Room *m_InRoom; //Room Ship is located in.
const char *m_Name; //Name of the ship.
const char *m_Filename; //Filename of the ship.
const char *m_Manufacturer; //Who manufactures it?
const char *m_Shipyard; //Where was it built?
const char *m_Owner; //Who actually owns the ship?
const char *m_Pilot; //Who's the Pilot?
const char *m_CoPilot; //Who's the Co-Pilot?
short m_ShipType; //Mob, Player, Custom.
short m_ShipClass; //Class of ship.
short m_HyperDriveClass; //Hyperdrive class.