20 Dec, 2009, Tonitrus wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
So, I started playing God Wars 2, and it reminded me of a design idea I had discarded: auto-regeneration. I.e., healing is done over time automagically. This has a number of advantages. People don't need constant "preps" to heal, the upper-hand can be regained in combat without having to run away crying like a little girl, and you don't have to sleep constantly for hitpoints.

Sadly, this form of regeneration wouldn't make much sense in my setting, so I had to discard it a long time ago. I started thinking about it earlier today, and I managed to coalesce a few contradictory ideas into a weird combat system that I would like to put out for you fine people to poke holes into.

I've been toying with the idea of pain being separate from damage for quite a while, and wanting people to be able to recover from pain at a faster rate than the damage itself. For example, one evening several years back, I was sprinting down a hallway barefooted, when my pinky toe and the one beside it caught on a door frame, sending me face-first into the floor. I spent a good 30 seconds on the floor clutching my foot and gurgling out a mixture of growls and profanity. Then it was mostly fine. I got back up, went about my business, limping a bit. I don't recall how long it took my foot to finally "repair", probably several days, but the agonizing pain I had at the first instant lapsed pretty quickly. I've also had a number of injuries that hurt surprisingly little to begin with, then lingered on for years.