19 Oct, 2009, JohnnyStarr wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I'm trying to figure out why exactly Putty sends a signal on connection, i pasted it below, but its really just boxes:
input> "???? ????'??????"

Either way, i need to be able to run some type of pre evaluation of the input, I'm new to Ruby
so any help would be great! So far i've been playing with a regexp:
unless data =~ /abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz1234567890/i

But I'm sure there's a better way. :wink:
19 Oct, 2009, Scandum wrote in the 2nd comment:
I believe it sends out some telnet negotiations. Try to print the characters as decimal values to make more sense of it.
19 Oct, 2009, Runter wrote in the 3rd comment:
I don't really understand what you mean. Do you want to filter out all non-alpha numeric?
19 Oct, 2009, Chris Bailey wrote in the 4th comment:
Hey, what exactly you want to do with that data is important in determining how to handle it. What is the goal?
19 Oct, 2009, JohnnyStarr wrote in the 5th comment:
Runter said:
I don't really understand what you mean. Do you want to filter out all non-alpha numeric?

Yes, I did at one point.

Chris Bailey said:
Hey, what exactly you want to do with that data is important in determining how to handle it. What is the goal?

I realized after reading up on the Telnet support that they are in fact telnet options as Scandom said.
I was able to develop a quick routine to handle it, but I still havent figured out how to handle byte-by-byte support for Win32 telnet systems. Does anyone have a good example of how one might go about this?
19 Oct, 2009, Tyche wrote in the 6th comment:
staryavsky said:
I was able to develop a quick routine to handle it, but I still havent figured out how to handle byte-by-byte support for Win32 telnet systems. Does anyone have a good example of how one might go about this?

Yes
19 Oct, 2009, Scandum wrote in the 7th comment:
staryavsky said: