30 Sep, 2009, Tumeski wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hello,

As you can see im new here and im taken lots of interest in ROM 2.4b6. Im kinda new to MUD style of playing and not familiar with it. I've been studying it this fasinating piece of art for couple of days and making my modifications. I know my ABC, I use C# .NET everyday at work and also help to run big servers so linux enviroments are real confy for me.

Anyway I've been toying around with the code, combiling, adding snippets etc… Now I have two questions.

1. I have lots of .are files in my area folder (remember ROM2.4). Okay I have tools with to edit the .are files and I've noticed that theres pretty many .are files that are crucial for the MUD server to work at all. I think it will start just fine, but if the database is missing haha :D

Anyway, I need to know how to work with this situation. I wanna create a new world from scratch. And also I would appreciate it if I could clean that area folder up. I could just use huuuuge vnum's and start building my world there, but dont wanna.

Just gimme some documentary how to work with that folder.

2. This is most likely simple, but cant find answer anywhere. How do I create gods. Immortals are there and bla bla bla, but I wanna see the god characters. I want to have full control over this and my second weakness is pfiles. Dont get them argh! I get the basic players fine. But editing immortals and gods is frustrating. I have basic levels and havent been modufying them. I wanna get one "Admin" freakin player and if Im right it should be level 60.

Thanks for making trough my horrible english (Im finnish) and big thanks for reply's in forehand.

Sincerely,
Tumeski
30 Sep, 2009, lnewlfe wrote in the 2nd comment: