20 Jun, 2009, Banner wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I keep dropping this error trying to compile with pretty much any addition in the latest SMAUG. I'll admit it's stumped me because I'm not a proficient C++ programmer and I've never seen this before:

make -s smaug
Compiling o/changes.o….
changes.c: In function 'void fread_change(CHANGE_DATA*, FILE*)':
changes.c:66: error: invalid conversion from 'const char*' to 'char*'
changes.c: In function 'void do_addchange(CHAR_DATA*, char*)':
changes.c:220: error: invalid conversion from 'const char*' to 'char*'
changes.c:221: error: invalid conversion from 'const char*' to 'char*'
changes.c:222: error: invalid conversion from 'const char*' to 'char*'
changes.c:223: error: invalid conversion from 'const char*' to 'char*'
make[1]: *** [o/changes.o] Error 1
make: *** [all] Error 2

if( !str_cmp( word, "End" ) )
{
if( !chg->change )
chg->change = STRALLOC( "Error - Tell Zarius" ); //66
return;
}
break;

if( strlen( argument ) < 10 )
{
send_to_char( "The change description must be longer than 10 chars.\n\r", ch );
return;
}

totChanges++;

CREATE( chg, CHANGE_DATA, 1 );
LINK( chg, first_change, last_change, next, prev );
chg->change = STRALLOC( argument ); //220
chg->coder = STRALLOC( ch->name ); //221
chg->date = STRALLOC( current_date( ) ); //222
chg->type = STRALLOC( capitalize( arg1 ) ); //223
chg->mudtime = current_time;

send_to_char( "Change Added.\n\r", ch );
sprintf( buf, "&z<&CCHANGE&z> &w%s change &R#%d &wadded, type '&Rchanges&w' to see the details.&D\n\r",
capitalize( arg1 ), totChanges );
do_echo( ch, buf );
save_changes( );
return;
}

EDIT: I solved the above by changing

char *change;
char *coder;
char *date;
char *type; //Added to show type of change - Zarius

to:
const char *change;
const char *coder;
const char *date;
const char *type; //Added to show type of change - Zarius

although I do not understand why char no longer works under c++?

However, I now have this issue:

Compiling o/changes.o….