10 Jun, 2009, Kaene wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I was just wondering if the leading space stripping inside of one_argument was there for some security reason, or just a matter of convenience, or maybe something else entirely I don't see?

I ask because there are things I would like to allow leading spaces (titles, pretitles, other custom messages, etc), but I don't want to open myself up to some problem that it is fixing.

I don't think that's the case, it seems to be just a guard against people hitting space more than once and screwing their commands up… but then again I am still very new to the coding.

Thanks for any info, and apologies for the n00bity. :D

For reference:
/*
* Pick off one argument from a string and return the rest.
* Understands quotes.
*/
char *one_argument (char *argument, char *arg_first)
{
char cEnd;

while (isspace (*argument))
argument++;

cEnd = ' ';
if (*argument == '\'' || *argument == '"')
cEnd = *argument++;

while (*argument != '\0')
{
if (*argument == cEnd)
{
argument++;
break;
}
*arg_first = LOWER (*argument);
arg_first++;
argument++;
}
*arg_first = '\0';

while (isspace (*argument))
argument++;

return argument;
}
10 Jun, 2009, Runter wrote in the 2nd comment:
It's just the way the author intended the function to work. To grab the first argument, ignoring any leading space. There's no other purpose for security, etc. (But that doesn't mean changing it won't make legacy uses of it fail for some purposes.)
10 Jun, 2009, David Haley wrote in the 3rd comment:
You generally don't want it to make a difference if I type:
look_guard
or
look__guard
(where _ means space)
because the latter would try to look up a creature called " guard", and the guard's name is, well, "guard", not " guard".
Generally speaking, whitespace is not considered to be significant, so it's discarded.

Since the common use case is to ignore spaces, it might make sense to have your particular functions that need whitespace to use a different routine.