11 May, 2009, JohnnyStarr wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
hey,
i noticed this in ROM: CHAR_DATA *victim = (CHAR_DATA *) vo;
Ok, so i'm not a C expert (YET) so could someone explain this? is this how type casting in C works?
If so, why is this done THIS way?
11 May, 2009, David Haley wrote in the 2nd comment:
Yes, that is type casting.

If so, why is this done THIS way?

I'm guessing this isn't a syntax question.
Basically, 'vo' is something that is not of type CHAR_DATA* (probably void*), but somehow it has been determined that it actually is a CHAR_DATA*, so you need to tell the compiler what its real type is in order to use it as a pointer to a CHAR_DATA structure.
11 May, 2009, JohnnyStarr wrote in the 3rd comment:
I see, so you are correct (yet again) 'vo' was a parameter sent in as void.

so i guess my next question is, why would it be sent in as void? it was a spell function in magic.c

i suppose i mean to ask, what is the advantage of sending something in as void? is it that vo could have been a pointer to CHAR_DATA OR an integer? or even a pointer to a char 'string'?
11 May, 2009, David Haley wrote in the 4th comment:
Yes, since C/C++ are statically typed languages, everything needs a type. So, if you don't know something's type ahead of time, you need to use some kind of generic type. void* is the easiest way to pass something in without actually specifying a type.

In this case, 'vo' might be a pointer to a character, a string, an object, maybe a room or an area or who knows what. Given where it's used (as an argument to a spell) it is likely that in practice it is either a character or an object – i.e. some kind of target.

This kind of programming is "dangerous" in that you are basically overriding the compiler's type checking system, but sometimes you don't have much of a choice. (Of course, there are better and worse ways of implementing dynamic typing.)
11 May, 2009, elanthis wrote in the 5th comment: