18 Apr, 2009, Igabod wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I was at hastings yesterday afternoon looking at books and decided to look into getting a C/C++ programming for dumbasses or whatever book. Yeah I know I should have gotten this done 8 years ago when I started coding but whatever. Anyway, I saw 3 books that were put out by the same company and they were "C programming for the complete beginner" and "C# programming for the complete beginner" and likewise for C++.

Now, I know the difference between C and C++ but I haven't actually looked into C# enough to know what the difference between that and standard C is.

What would C# be better used for than C or C++? I could probably google this, but I'd rather get the information directly from the programmers who use the stuff for what I'm interested in.

I haven't actually bought any of the books yet but I'm most likely going to get the C++ one since it seems everybody is converting stuff to C++ lately.
18 Apr, 2009, quixadhal wrote in the 2nd comment:
C++ is (mostly) a superset of C. It adds features to facilitate object-oriented programming, while still being (mostly) compatible with standard C.

C# is a totally different language, which shares some syntactic similarities with C and C++. It is implemented on Microsoft platforms via the .NET system, which can also be emulated on linux platforms via the mono project.

C# isn't a bad language. Like many modern languages, it has strings as a base type (and thus is better for use when working with large volumes of text). It also features concepts like reflection and inspection, meaning you can write code that generates new classes on the fly. It is, however, a very different animal than either C or C++.