04 Apr, 2009, Ubasti wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hi!

I found a builder's school a while ago and there's a few MUSH's that run classes (or ran classes, that is) to help people learn to use MUSHcode. So, just wondering are there any MUDs that focus on coding?

I'm still learning C++ so I'm not sure if this is the best time to get into anything. But you have to start somewhere, you know? I have no idea about the different codebases, but any leads on a MUD school would be great.

Thanks!
04 Apr, 2009, Sandi wrote in the 2nd comment:
Since all MUDs of a DIKUish or LP nature are customised, there's no way a "school" could really be applicable to more than one MUD. Generally, things are done by apprenticeship.

Also, while I firmly believe students should work on projects in which they have a sincere interest, I also believe they should be exposed to "good practice", and there isn't much of that in any MUD codebase. At least, not the ones you can download. :)
04 Apr, 2009, elanthis wrote in the 3rd comment:
http://tbamud.com/

Both a codebase (continued development of Circle) and a builder academy.
04 Apr, 2009, Remcon wrote in the 4th comment:
Also, while I firmly believe students should work on projects in which they have a sincere interest, I also believe they should be exposed to "good practice", and there isn't much of that in any MUD codebase. At least, not the ones you can download. :)

Really now lol, I try to follow good practice and my codebase is up for download. If you have something that is "good practice" and I'm not doing do let me know :)
04 Apr, 2009, JohnnyStarr wrote in the 5th comment:
I think the point Sandi (if i'm not mistaken) was trying to make, is that most MUDs you can download
were written a long time ago. Not only are they derived from older languages / resources, but they have also been
rewritten again and again passed down from one generation to another. The problem with this, is that