24 Mar, 2009, Silenus wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hi,

This is a bit of a beginners question but I am somewhat new to C/C++. Are there good resources out there which describe the trade offs in writing custom allocators and diferrent strategies for managing memory? I have been having some difficulties finding these sorts of materials. Also are there materials that describe how the various different malloc implementations work?

Thanks in advance,

Silenus.
24 Mar, 2009, David Haley wrote in the 2nd comment:
This question could mean different things. Are you talking about managing memory as in garbage collection schemes, or are you talking about just how to allocate objects in memory to reduce fragmentation etc.?

Scott Meyers in "Effective C++" has an item on custom memory allocation, IIRC, that's worth a read.
24 Mar, 2009, Silenus wrote in the 3rd comment:
Hi David,

Thanks for the reply. I am primarily talking about the latter, but also about alternatives to garbage collection schemes and things you would use to minimize allocations like shared memory implementations of various sorts, reference counting etc. Since I haven't done much coding in C/C++ it's kind of something I have to deal with which I am somewhat unuse to. I will go ahead and see if I can find a copy of that over here. Thanks.
24 Mar, 2009, David Haley wrote in the 4th comment:
The short answer is that you don't play games with the allocator unless you have rather specific allocation patterns. It's optimized to work well on average, so for a wide variety of allocation patterns. Of course, some apps allocate lots and lots of tiny objects that get destroyed very quickly; others might allocate lots of tiny objects but with significantly different lifespans.

The documentation on this isn't really C/C++ specific except for implementation details. Really anything out there on allocation patterns, allocators etc. would be appropriate.