06 Oct, 2006, Celest wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hiya,
Im rather new to coding, but im getting a grasp of it here and there. However i wanted to know how I could tweak the do_restart code in smaug to allow for a global countdown. Ie. 5 minutes to countdown. (a minute passes) 4 minutes to countdown etc. Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction of what kind of time functions or commands I should be using or elaborate on how I could accomplish this. Any help would be much appreciated.Thank you in advance.
Celest
06 Oct, 2006, Conner wrote in the 2nd comment:
In update.c, find reboot_check and change
static char *tmsg[] = { "You feel the ground shake as the end comes near!",
"Lightning crackles in the sky above!",
"Crashes of thunder sound across the land!",
"The sky has suddenly turned midnight black.",
"You notice the life forms around you slowly dwindling away.",
"The seas across the lands have turned frigid.",
"The aura of magic that surrounds the Lands seems slightly unstable.",
"You sense a change in the magical forces surrounding you."
};
to whatever messages you want it to use instead and then change
static const int times[] = { 60, 120, 180, 240, 300, 600, 900, 1800 };
to the number of seconds to send out each of those respective messages to instead of the default which you can see is 1 minute, 2 minutes, 3 minutes, 4 minutes, 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 15 minutes, and 30 minutes prior to the reboot.

Otherwise, it's already in there for you to do a global announcement at those intervals.
06 Oct, 2006, kiasyn wrote in the 3rd comment:
he means teh reboot command, not the automatic reboot
06 Oct, 2006, Conner wrote in the 4th comment:
Doesn't the reboot command still call the same reboot_check function to do the global countdown announcements as the automatic reboot?

And, if it doesn't, why couldn't you just copy the relevant portions from reboot_check to do_reboot?
06 Oct, 2006, kiasyn wrote in the 5th comment: