09 Jan, 2009, Val wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I've been playing on MUD's for several years and built on a few of them, but I've gotten to a point where I get tired of the MUD's I play going inactive, either due to the staff not doing anything anymore, or the playerbase just getting bored and leaving, or a combination of the two.

I already have an idea in mind for a MUD with a unique storyline, medieval-fantasy-ish, but also with roots in realism and science.

The problem is that I have absolutely no idea how to code and trying to learn is proving quite difficult, especially with there being so much jargon to understand.

It would be cool if someone would like to join as a staff member in helping me set up and code such a MUD, and could be involved in the storyline as well if they wanted, as some elements, one race in particular would need to be played by staff to facilitate the roleplay of regular players, at some point.

I'm not looking for a /really/ complex MUD, but actual items, an economy, a turn-based combat system, emote-style roleplay and a pleasant-looking output would all be required to provide a good setting for what would be a roleplay enforced or encouraged MUD.

I'm not interested in hack and slash games or anything remotely like them, but the storybook type games where player-characters have skills and stats that affect how well they can fight, etc, without actually restricting them too much and strangling plots.

I figure this is probably a long shot, but let me know if you're interested or even if you have any advice you want to offer.

Currently I don't have a chosen codebase (would probably have to rip the guts out of most of the ones already out there, to make them how I wanted, anyway,) so I don't have a game to log in to yet.

-Val
09 Jan, 2009, Chris Bailey wrote in the 2nd comment: