10 Jan, 2009, Pedlar wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Ok, so I've been working with Lua for a while now, and have got myself stumped at reworking the engine abit. Hoping someone here might have the knowledge to help point in the right direction. We have started to try and work with metatables to be able to pull direct data from C structures, and to modify the C structures from within lua as well. My big stump is, i've never used metatables before and can't find exactly how to set one up in the fashion I need.

What we seek is the usability to attach a userdatum to a metatable along with the methods for the structure, for example what we want to be able to do:
ch.hit = 300
send_char(ch.name .. " Your hit poitns have been modified too " .. ch.hit, ch)

if that makes sense to anyone, never been too good at explaining things ;) Will help clarify if it dosent make sense.
11 Jan, 2009, ghasatta wrote in the 2nd comment:
Per the Lua 5.1 reference manual, "Userdata values cannot be created or modified in Lua, only through the C API. This guarantees the integrity of data owned by the host program."

Beyond that, I'm pretty sure you can't define a metamethod for '=', although there is one for newindex (e.g., "table[key] = value"). So, you're going to need to define a metamethod to replace newindex that takes the key and value args and passes them to a C function. You'll have to actually modify your ch table/struct in the C function.

That C function is probably going to be somewhat gnarly, as you will probably have to map strings to each member of the struct. You could use integers alternatively, but I don't see you getting around having to build out a map.

Good luck, HTH.
11 Jan, 2009, Pedlar wrote in the 3rd comment:
I have that part done already :D, already constructed the __index __newindex functions and all, my downfall right now is how tos et up the metatable, and that part
11 Jan, 2009, ghasatta wrote in the 4th comment: