22 Dec, 2008, Brinson wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Don't know hardly anything about Perl, but am trying to write a plugin.

Trying to write a rolling plugin that execuites the "roll" command when it sees something below the $target variable.

written this so far by modifying the sample plugin

@array = (30..$target);

foreach (@array) {
$::world->trigger('$_', 'roll', { name => 'sample:misc' });
}

If I manually set $target to a number, it rolls perfectly until it has a number above that one.

I am toying with how to add a command to set $target, yet no matter what I do it doesn't seem to be work.

Looking at sample plugins I thought it would be something like:

sub RollerTarget {
$target = $_[0];
}

But that doesn't work.

Anyone know anything about writing plugins for Kildclient?

I have zero perl knowledge, basically just stabbing in the dark hoping it works.
22 Dec, 2008, Omega wrote in the 2nd comment:
Target is supposed to be a number correct?
22 Dec, 2008, Brinson wrote in the 3rd comment:
Yes. I can set it manually in the plugin, but any way I try to set it once the mud is open seems to fail.

tried manually putting in like /$target=50; into the command box to manually set it but it doesn't seem to work either.
22 Dec, 2008, Omega wrote in the 4th comment:
well, I have no experience with the app its from, but I can tell you this.

but Perl… Oh how I love thee…
Usage RollerTarget(TARGET=>3);
sub RollerTarget {
my %args =(
TARGET=>0,
@_,
);
my $ret_val = $TARGET;
return $ret_val;
}

Thats just how I'd do the RollerTarget function.
As for your inputting, it may want it like /$target=>50 Just an Idea, not sure how the system works itself, but perl can be interesting to say the least. <hugs his tkx perl area editor>
22 Dec, 2008, David Haley wrote in the 5th comment:
Don't you mean $args{TARGET} or something like that?
22 Dec, 2008, Omega wrote in the 6th comment:
Yeah, $args{TARGET}

sorry, my bad, been a long day :P

sub RollerTarget {
my %args =(