17 Nov, 2008, Idealiad wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Honestly I just wanted to continue this on daiki's A Newbie thread, but probably it's better to start fresh, so…

Let's introduce ourselves! MudBytes veterans tell us newbies who you are, what muds you like to code or play, what your projects are or where they can be found. Newbies tell us how you came here, why you're here, your hopes and dreams….but please keep it on the clean side ;D.

So my name is George, I'm new to MudBytes but post fairly often at Top Mud Sites and The Mud Connector as Ide and Idealiad, respectively. I'm not really sure why I changed my nickname from one site to the other; as I joined TMS second it might be that I was losing brain cells in my old age and just shortened the name out of forgetfulness.

I've been playing muds for a long time, starting in college where I spent many hours (maybe too many hours) on games like Lost Souls and AmberMUSH. Since then I've mostly played casually and haven't really found one mud to keep me for very long. Along with muds I play all sorts of games, interactive fiction, old games, games by new developers, basically anything that looks interesting I like to try.

My day job involves a lot of sawdust, mud and heavy lifting, so in my spare time I like to learn about making games in addition to playing them, using stuff like Inform 7, TADS 3, Python, Flash, and pixeling and tracking tools. Hopefully someday I'll make some games that don't suck. OK.
17 Nov, 2008, Kayle wrote in the 2nd comment:
Uh.. I'm Kayle. I'm Lead Developer and Owner of Malevolent Whispers. But Um. It's no open. We're actually in the process of ripping most of the major systems out and rewriting them. I've been mudding for a while. I started on Realms of Despair oh so long ago, and I've bounced around from mud to mud, mainly sticking to Smaug and it's derivatives as that's my comfort zone.