14 Oct, 2008, Thresius wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hello everyone,

I'm just looking for a little bit of advice. I'm relatively new to Ruby and trying to get to grips with the language as best as possible. I've been doing good up until now and now I'm stumped. Besides the fact that I have never did anything like this before, it is even worse trying to do it in a language that is relatively new to you.

I'm looking to create a verb-like system for commands. Using formats applied to commands I should be able to define a format like so:

SAY TO 1=% IN 2=%

Like it says, it takes the arguments passed to a search function and compares it to the format to see if it is true. 1=% and 2=% being the arguments that are passed. The function will then pass back the command to be executed and the arguments to be passed where 1=% is equal to 'Ologo' for instance. Obviously the arguments would be an array.

So any ideas would be great! Thank you.
14 Oct, 2008, David Haley wrote in the 2nd comment:
Just to be sure the problem is clear: you just want to take a regular expression, and match it against some input text, and see if it matches, correct? Or is there something more complicated going on? I ask because if it's what said, you can use Ruby pattern matching pretty easily to accomplish this.

There are more or less efficient ways of implementing that; the simplest (and not very efficient) way is to just have a list of regular expressions and try each one in turn.
14 Oct, 2008, Thresius wrote in the 3rd comment:
Ideally what I want it to do is iterate through a list of commands and match their formats (like the one supplied) above to the input passed to the function… we'll call that search_commands(). But it is a twofold function were it also returns back the command and arguments.

cmd, args = search_commands(some_string)