25 Sep, 2008, niori wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Ok, so i'm a builder on a MUD. I have my area built, and named and everything (minus mobs and objects), but i can not for the life of me come up with a room description for the last room i have to do.
1. it is a DBZ based MUD
2. the area i am building is for beginners with the hylian race (from the Legend of Zelda games for those of you that don't know)
3. the maps that i used to create the area, are the same maps from the original Legend of Zelda for the NES's first quest dungeons
4. the room i can't come up with a description for is the room after Gannon, with Princess Zelda

Any help or suggestions you guys might be able to throw my way, would be greatly appreciated.
25 Sep, 2008, Mabus wrote in the 2nd comment:
I often tell new builders:

1) Close your eyes.
2) "Be" in the room.
3) "See" the room.

If you were in the room, what would standout? Is it the blood stains on the floor? The lantern with cracked glass on the table? Something hanging from the ceiling that you cannot quite make out? Chains on the wall looking rather rusty?

I also find a thesaurus handy when I build. Not the online ones, but an actual book. When I go to look up a word (because I try to never use the same word twice in a room) I have often ran across several more on my way there that really sparked ideas.

I know this is very likely not what you were looking for, but my head is heavy from coffee and code. Good luck with your room.
25 Sep, 2008, The_Fury wrote in the 3rd comment:
Avoid using long unwieldy sentences separated by commas. Write precisely what is needed and avoid being overly verbose. It is usually easier to read short concise sentences.
25 Sep, 2008, Igabod wrote in the 4th comment:
for some reason i think niori was just trying to get someone to do his/her (ambiguous name) work for him/her. unfortunately for you niori that's probably not gonna happen. nice try though, can't blame ya one bit.