09 Jul, 2008, Impacatus wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I'm pretty new to programming in general. These I know it may be an ambitious goal at my level, but I'm trying to code a MUD from scratch. I have a couple of questions about data that are probably not specific to any language, but if they are I'm using c++.

What's the best way to link two records to each other? Let me explain. I plan to have a system where items have a certain amount of customization availible. What this means is that each individual item has to have its own entry in the database instead of just being a number. So each of these records might have a variable to indicate where in the game world the object is. But this would mean that when a player wanted to look at their inventory, the server would have to search through every single item in the game world to find the ones located in that particular player's inventory. Like I said, I don't know much about programming, but this sounds inefficient. Is there a better way, or is this not as big of a problem as it sounds to me?

My other question is about persistance. I'm not sure if I should plan to load the entire database into RAM at the start of the boot, then update it all at once at the end, or only load data as needed and continously save any changes to the data. Are they both even possible? If so, which one is generally recommended?

I didn't know who else to ask these questions, so thanks in advance for your answers.
09 Jul, 2008, kiasyn wrote in the 2nd comment:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linked_list...

In my MUD i load the entire database (more or less) into ram at boot, then save changes as they're made.
09 Jul, 2008, Impacatus wrote in the 3rd comment:
Thanks for the response. I'm trying to understand what linked lists are and how they pertain to my question, but I'm having a little trouble. If you could explain using my example, I would appreciate it.